


Todaiji Temple
SaveA temple whose wooden hall, among the world's largest, shelters a 15-meter Great Buddha.
The published figures reach to the face, 5.33 meters, and the ears.
MoreWhat kind of place
The Great Buddha Hall is one of the largest wooden buildings in the world: 57.0 meters across, 50.5 deep and 48.7 tall, or roughly 187 by 166 by 160 feet.
Founded in the eighth century, it burned in two wars and was rebuilt in the Edo period by the priest Kokei; money was short, so the hall came back seven bays wide instead of eleven.
The height and the depth are what they were at the founding — only the width shrank, to about 60 percent.
The temple also answers why the statue had to be this big: its size is the standard measure for a Buddha image multiplied by ten.
The Flower Garland Sutra describes Rushana as the universe itself, and ten is the number that opens out to hold it. The measurement stops at 15 meters, the temple says, but what it is meant to hold does not.
With kidsThe part that matters
The two guardian figures in the Great South Gate stand just under 8.4 meters, about 27 feet, and you walk past them before you buy any ticket.
Inside the hall, the Great Buddha is just under 15 meters, 49 feet, and the temple gives the parts as well: a face 17 feet long, ears over 8 feet. Those are numbers a five-year-old can do something with.
The only elevator and the only changing table on the grounds are in the museum building by that gate, which also has a café and somewhere to sit, so stopping there on the way in saves walking back for it later.
Admission is charged hall by hall — 800 yen for adults, 400 for elementary schoolers, cash only, so bring cash — while the grounds, the gate and the terrace at Nigatsudo cost nothing.
Sources and evidence (3)
- The prefecture says a thorough round takes more than a day, and names which stops are worth the walk.source
- Almost all of a Todaiji visit is outdoors; this names the roofed shelters you may use for free.source
- From May the deer give birth; the temple explains why touching a fawn can get it abandoned.source
By age0-1 / 2-3 / 4-6
- Ages 0-1You can push a stroller all the way to the Great Buddha Hall and inside it. The official precinct map draws a "wheelchair-accessible route" in purple, and the stretch from the prefectural Daibutsuden car park through the Chumon gate to the hall entrance has been made passable (the English version calls the same stretch "a flat stone path"). You enter the hall by the ramp on the front left, the west side. Inside, a baby in your arms looks up at a Buddha 14.98 meters tall.There is no nursing room. The official FAQ answers exactly that: "There is no nursing room, but if you need one, come to the security post. We will lend you a room if one is free." The post stands in front of the Chumon gate at the Great Buddha Hall; it is a kindness rather than a facility, so do not build the day around it. If you want a proper nursing room, it is at the Nara Park Bus Terminal (Noboriojicho 76), on the road you walk in on from Kintetsu Nara Station. Todaiji's own diaper changing table is one, in the multipurpose restroom on the basement floor of the Todaiji Museum, with an elevator between there and the 1st floor. Nearby, the Daibutsuden car park toilet and the toilet below the west stairs of Sangatsudo also have diaper changing beds (per Nara Prefecture). There are no rubbish bins, so used diapers go home with you.
- Ages 2-3Before you buy a ticket you walk through the Nandaimon gate, where two Kongo Rikishi guardians just under 8.4 meters tall stand. That part is free. Wild deer are simply there on the approach beyond the gate, so you meet them just by walking the grounds. In front of the Great Buddha Hall stands the octagonal lantern (a National Treasure from the Nara period), with music-playing bodhisattvas carved in relief on the four faces of its lamp chamber and four lions running through clouds on its four doors.The deer here are wild, not kept animals. Nara Prefecture says "families with small children in particular should take care," and Todaiji asks visitors never to approach a doe with her fawn: the mother turns nervous and may do harm, and a fawn that picks up a human smell can be abandoned. Feed them only shika-senbei, and hand it over at once instead of teasing. Wheels reach the approach and the Great Buddha Hall, but the way up to Nigatsudo has steps a wheelchair cannot avoid, and even the plaza below Nigatsudo runs along the hillside with a change in height (the English page calls it "a fairly bumpy uphill"). Payment is cash only.
- Ages 4-6This is a place where "how big is it" can be checked in numbers. The Great Buddha is 14.98 m tall, with a face 5.33 m long, ears 2.54 m, eyes 1.02 m, and a nose 0.50 m high. The temple publishes more: the left palm measures about 1.8 m from the wrist to the base of the middle finger, and the foot about 3 m from heel to the base of the big toe. The hall around it is among the largest wooden buildings in the world, 57.012 m east to west, 50.480 m north to south, 48.742 m high. The audio guide is 500 yen per person, and Japanese is the one language offered in both an adult and a children's version (lent 15 meters past the Daibutsuden ticket check, before the Chumon gate).Admission is charged per hall: 800 yen for adults and 400 yen for elementary school children, paid separately at the Great Buddha Hall, Hokkedo, Kaidan-in Kaidando, and the Todaiji Museum (a combined ticket for the hall and museum is 1,200 yen for junior high age and up, 600 yen for elementary). Cash only; credit cards are not accepted. No reservation is needed. Watch the order you walk in, because closing times differ: the Great Buddha Hall is 7:30-17:30 from April to October and 8:00-17:00 from November to March, but Hokkedo (Sangatsudo) and Kaidan-in Kaidando close at 16:00 all year, so leaving them until after the Great Buddha Hall can mean finding them shut. The children's audio guide and the free pamphlet are in Japanese only.
By weatherRain, heat, cold
- Rainy dayMost of the walking is outdoors: the approach from the Nandaimon gate, the path to the Chumon gate, and the climb up to Nigatsudo are all in the open. What is under a roof is the inside of the halls you buy a ticket for, plus the Todaiji Cultural Center next to the Nandaimon, which holds a cafe, a museum shop, and a rest space.
- Hot dayNot checked yet
- Cold dayNot checked yet
How was it with your kids?
Not greatGreat
- ElevatorElevator:with conditionsconditions
- Stroller OKStroller friendly:with conditionsconditions
- RentalStroller rental:not checked
- NursingNursing space:none
- ChangingDiaper changing table:with conditionsconditions
- Family WCFamily restroom:with conditionsconditions
- Own foodOutside food allowed:not checked
- EnglishEnglish support:with conditionsconditions
* Other not checked (9)
Diaper disposal bin, Kids' toilet seat & step stool, Child switch (rider swap), Hot water for formula, Fathers welcome, Microwave, Room privacy, Official family-friendly certification, Quietness (guide)
Green = we confirmed it. Gray = not checked yet. Gray with a line through = the place does not have it.
Worth a look before you go
Japanese · opens translatedOfficial
The prefecture says a thorough round takes more than a day, and names which stops are worth the walk.
Nara Prefecture's own list of what to walk to at Todaiji, beyond the Great Buddha
Japanese · opens translatedOfficial
Almost all of a Todaiji visit is outdoors; this names the roofed shelters you may use for free.
Where to shelter when it rains in Nara Park, and why there are no bins
Japanese · opens translatedOfficial
From May the deer give birth; the temple explains why touching a fawn can get it abandoned.
Fawn season: the temple's own warning never to go near a mother deer
Todaiji Temple · Links & reads ▾
Where to go next
Where it is
406-1 Zoshicho, Nara-shi, Nara 630-8587source
Before you go
- The Great Buddha Hall is among the largest wooden buildings in the world at 57.012 meters east to west, 50.480 north to south and 48.742 high, or roughly 187 by 166 by 160 feet. Founded in the Nara period, it burned in the Jisho and Eiroku wars and was rebuilt in the Edo period by the priest Kokei at seven bays wide rather than the eleven (about 88 meters) of the earlier halls, because the money ran out. The height and the depth stayed as they were, so what you are looking at is the original building with only its width cut, to about 60 percent.source
- The temple publishes the statue's measurements outright: 14.98 meters tall, about 49 feet, with a face 5.33 meters long — 17 feet — ears of 2.54, over 8 feet, eyes of 1.02, a nose of 0.50 and a pedestal 3.05 high. The FAQ goes finer still — the left palm is about 1.8 meters from the wrist to the base of the middle finger, with another 1.5 to the fingertip and about 1.05 along the thumb, and the foot runs about 3 meters from the heel to the base of the big toe, with 0.9 more to its tip. The diagram adds a face 3.20 meters wide, a mouth 1.33 across, 12.08 meters from knee to knee — about 40 feet — and hair curls about 22 centimeters, nine inches, across, weighing about 1.2 kilograms, two and a half pounds, each.source
More notes (11)
- The temple answers why the statue had to be this big. It is the standard measure for a Buddha image multiplied by ten: the Flower Garland Sutra describes Rushana as the universe itself, and ten is the number that opens out to hold it. The answer ends by saying that the measurement stops at 15 meters, but that in content you might call it an infinite, cosmic dimension.source
- The two guardian figures in the Great South Gate, each just under 8.4 meters or about 27 feet, were carved by Unkei, Kaikei and their workshop in 69 days in 1203, and documents found inside the statues fix the start at July 24 and show the open-mouthed one already standing in the gate by August 7. The gate itself rises 25.46 meters, about 84 feet, above its platform, carried on 18 great columns of 19.058 meters that run all the way up into the roof. All of it is free: you walk through this gate before you reach any ticket window.source
- The octagonal lantern in front of the Great Buddha Hall dates from the temple's founding and came through both fires, with musician bodhisattvas carved in relief on the four faces of its fire box and four lions running through clouds on the four doors. The temple draws attention to the depth in the carving — the distance between an arm holding an instrument and the chest behind it, the heavenly scarves lifting in the wind.source
- Nigatsudo, the hall where the Omizutori rites take place, can be visited at any hour and asks no admission: the official pamphlet marks only three halls as paid — the Great Buddha Hall, Hokkedo and the Kaidando — and lists Nigatsudo with a note that its terrace looks out over the Nara basin, a view the prefecture calls one of the great ones, taking in the city and the plain. Getting up to that terrace, though, means stairs that cannot be avoided in a wheelchair.source
- On New Year's Day the Buddha's face is free to see. The middle gate opens at midnight and entry stays free until 8:00 a.m., with the panelled door on the front of the hall opened so that, looking up from the platform of the middle gate, the face sits framed in the window. At about 11:00 p.m. on December 31 a bonfire is lit outside the gate near Kagami Pond, and braziers burn along the water channels on both sides of the approach.source
- The same window opens again in August. In 2026 the Great Buddha Hall closed at 5:30 p.m. on the 13th and 14th and reopened from 7:00 to 9:00 p.m. for a free evening visit, and on the 15th the lantern memorial ran from 7:00 to 9:30 p.m., with ordinary admission charged unless you had signed up for a lantern or a prayer. The window was specially opened on all three nights.source
- The audio guide is 500 yen a person for a touch pen, earphones and a map, and runs 30 minutes on the temple's history, its buildings and its statues in nine languages: English, Japanese, Chinese, Korean, French, German, Spanish, Italian and Vietnamese. Japanese is the only one that comes in a children's version as well as an adult one. You pick it up 15 meters — about 50 feet — past the ticket check at the Great Buddha Hall, just before the middle gate, with no reservation needed except for groups of ten or more, from 10:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. April through October and to 4:30 p.m. November through March, though lending can be suspended in bad weather.source
- Wild deer are simply part of the grounds. On May 15, 2026 the temple posted a warning with its reasons attached: the first fawn of the year was born in Nara Park on May 3, mothers turn nervous protecting their young and can hurt anyone who comes close, and a fawn that picks up a human scent may be abandoned by its mother. The prefecture adds that these are wild animals that sometimes attack, and that people with small children should be especially careful.source
- Even the manners around deer crackers are set out officially: hand one over straight away, because holding back makes the deer angry, and never give anything else, since it causes tooth decay and poisoning and kills them. The crackers are rice bran and wheat flour with no sugar or salt, and the deer of Nara Park, a national natural monument, were counted at 1,325 in July 2024 — 313 males, 798 females and 214 young.source
- The Todaiji Museum opened in October 2011 with five exhibition rooms, the second of them designed to feel like the inner sanctuary of Hokkedo, showing the thousand-armed Kannon, the Nikko and Gakko bodhisattvas handed down from Hokkedo, and a Nara-period image of the infant Buddha. The building it occupies, the Todaiji Cultural Center, is the best-equipped indoor space on the grounds: the floor plan puts a café called Hafu Time, a museum shop and restrooms on the first floor, a multipurpose restroom with the changing table on the basement level, an elevator between the two, and a rest area in the same building. All of that stays usable on the days the museum itself closes to change exhibits.source
- The ground you can cover on wheels is drawn as a purple line on the official map, and there are two lines. One runs through the Great South Gate, past the front of the Cultural Center and on from the middle gate to the entrance of the Great Buddha Hall, with its southern end at the prefectural Daibutsuden parking lot and the Daibutsumae bus stop. The other runs from the Kaidan-in past the Great Buddha Hall, the bell tower and the Nembutsudo to the foot of Hokkedo, where it simply stops. The hall is entered by the ramp on the front left, west side, and the stretch from the prefectural parking lot and the taxi drop-off west of the hall to the entrance is built for wheelchairs and strollers — a flat stone path, as the English version calls it.source
Basics
- Fee:¥800 for an adult and ¥400 for an elementary-school child — but that is per hall. The charge applies separately at the Great Buddha Hall, the Hokke-dō, the Kaidan-dō and the Tōdai-ji Museum, so seeing two of them costs twice. The bands are adult (university age and over), 16-18, 13-15 and 6-12, all of the first three paying ¥800. A joint Great Buddha Hall and Museum ticket is ¥1,200 for age 13 and over and ¥600 for 6-12. The museum page states that children below school age (under 6) are free there; for the Great Buddha Hall the official table simply has no row below elementary school. Groups of 30 or more pay ¥700 / ¥500 / ¥400 / ¥200. A visitor holding a Japanese disability certificate pays ¥400 (¥200 for an elementary-school child). Payment is cash only — no cards, no vouchers. Walking the grounds, the Nandai-mon gate with its two guardian statues, and the Nigatsu-dō terrace cost nothingsource2345
- Hours:The Great Buddha Hall opens 7:30-17:30 from April to October and 8:00-17:00 from November to March. The Hokke-dō (Sangatsu-dō) and the Kaidan-dō keep shorter hours, 8:30-16:00 all year, so leave them until after the Great Buddha Hall or you will be turned away. The Tōdai-ji Museum runs 9:30-17:30 from April to October and 9:30-17:00 from November to March, with last admission half an hour before it closes. The temple says it does not close except for special rituals, accidents or disasters. The museum is the exception: it shuts on its own for changes of exhibition, and in 2026 those days are 24 August and 6-9 October. On those days the rest of its building — the halls, the library, the museum shop, the Hafutaimu cafe and the rest space — stays open, which matters because that building is where the elevator, the accessible toilet and the changing table are. The grounds themselves are not gated: the Nigatsu-dō can be visited around the clock, though you are asked not to make noise near the hall at nightsource23
- Booking:You do not book. The temple says so three times over: no reservation is needed, not even for a school trip or a group — you tell the ticket window how many of you there are on the day — and the page for groups and travel agents goes further, saying it does not accept reservations or advance applications at all, and that no fax or phone call is needed either. The one thing to prepare is cash: tickets are sold in cash only, and neither credit cards nor travel-agency vouchers are accepted. Tickets are bought at each hall you want to enter, so buy them as you go rather than all at oncesource23Official booking site ↗
- Note: the deer here are wild, not tame. The prefecture asks families with small children to take particular care, and the temple asks you never to approach a mother deer with a fawn. Feed them the deer crackers sold in the park and nothing else, hand a cracker over quickly rather than teasing, and carry your trash out — there are no bins, and deer eat what is droppedsource23
Basics in detail (8)
- The deer here are wild rather than kept. The prefecture asks people with small children to be especially careful, and Todaiji asks that nobody go near a mother deer and her fawn at all. The only food is the deer crackers sold in the park, and they should be handed over at once rather than held back. There are no trash cans, so your trash goes home with you, because deer eat what falls to the ground.source
- The Great Buddha Hall opens 7:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. from April through October and 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. from November through March, while Hokkedo and the Kaidando keep shorter hours all year, 8:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m., so saving them for after the Great Buddha Hall can find them shut. The Todaiji Museum runs 9:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. April through October with last entry at 5:00, and 9:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. November through March with last entry at 4:30. The temple states that it does not close except for special events, accidents or disasters. The one exception is the museum, which shuts by itself to change exhibits — August 24 and October 6 through 9 in 2026 — though the rest of the Cultural Center stays open on those days: the halls, the library, the museum shop, the Hafu Time café and the rest area. That matters, because that is the building with the elevator, the multipurpose restroom and the changing table. The grounds themselves are not closed off by a gate, and Nigatsudo can be visited at any hour, with a request not to make noise around the hall at night.source
- Admission is 800 yen for adults and 400 for elementary schoolers, but the figure is per hall: the Great Buddha Hall, Hokkedo, the Kaidando and the Todaiji Museum each charge it, so two halls means paying twice. The brackets run adult (university age and up), high school, junior high and elementary, with high school and junior high students also paying 800. A combined ticket for the Great Buddha Hall and the museum is 1,200 yen for junior-high age and up and 600 for elementary schoolers. The museum page says children under 6 are free, while the Great Buddha Hall's own price table has no row below elementary school, so no figure is published there. Groups of 30 or more pay 700, 500, 400 and 200 yen across the same four brackets, and visitors with a disability certificate pay 400, or 200 for elementary schoolers. Payment is cash only — no credit cards, no travel-agency vouchers. Walking the grounds, the Great South Gate with its guardian figures and the terrace at Nigatsudo cost nothing.source
- You do not book. The official FAQ answers the question with a flat no, school trips and other groups included, and says to tell the ticket window your numbers on the day; the group and travel-agency section of the fees page goes further, that no reservations or advance applications are taken at all and there is no need to fax or phone. What you do need ready is cash, since tickets take nothing else, and you buy them hall by hall as you go rather than all at once.source
- On these two days the Great Buddha Hall closes at 5:30 p.m. and reopens from 7:00 to 9:00 p.m. for a free evening visit, with the daytime hours charged as usual, and the window in the front of the hall is specially opened so that the Buddha's face can be seen from outside. On August 13 a joint memorial service for those lost to disasters worldwide is held in the hall from 7:00 p.m.source
- The lantern memorial is held in the Great Buddha Hall with the window in the front specially opened, and ordinary admission applies unless you have signed up for a lantern or a prayer.source
- At midnight the middle gate of the Great Buddha Hall opens and entry stays free until 8:00 a.m. on January 1, with the panelled door on the front of the hall opened so that, looking up from the platform of the middle gate, the Buddha's face sits inside the window. At about 11:00 p.m. on December 31 a bonfire is lit outside the middle gate near Kagami Pond, and braziers burn along the water channels on both sides of the approach.source
- Fawn season, when Todaiji asks that nobody approach or touch a mother deer or her fawn, because mothers turn nervous protecting their young and can hurt anyone who comes near, and because a fawn that picks up a human scent may be abandoned by its mother.source
Once you've decided
evidence & sources (12)
- Official: Stroller friendly, Diaper changing table, Nursing space
- Official: Stroller friendly, Nursing space, Elevator
- Official: Stroller friendly, Diaper changing table, Indoor / outdoor
- Public agency: Diaper changing table, Family restroom, Diaper changing tables
- Public agency: Crowding (guide), Stroller access notes
- Public agency: Crowding (guide), Stroller access notes
- Official: Stroller friendly, Steps & slope caution
- Official: Indoor / outdoor, Elevator
- Official: Diaper changing table, Elevator
- npbt.jp: Nursing space
- Public agency: Stroller access notes
- Official: Stroller access notes
This Nara temple keeps its Great Buddha, nearly fifteen meters tall, inside a wooden hall counted among the largest in the world. Its face alone is 5.33 meters long, and the published figures reach down to the hand and the foot. The temple answers why so large: ten times the standard measure for a Buddha, because ten expands to the universe. Wild deer graze the approach, and the gate you pass first holds two guardians over eight meters tall, carved in sixty-nine days.
| Stroller friendly | Yes | You can push a stroller to the Great Buddha Hall and inside it. The temple says the stretch from the prefectural parking lot in front of the hall, and from the taxi drop-off on its west side, up to the hall entrance has been made passable by wheelchair and stroller — the English page calls it a flat stone path — and that wheels enter the hall itself by the ramp on the front left (west) side. The official map draws the wheelchair-passable route as a purple line, and it has two arms. One is the approach everybody walks: in through the Great South Gate, past the Tōdai-ji Cultural Center with the elevator and the changing table, on through the Chūmon to the hall entrance, with the parking lot and the Daibutsu-mae bus stop at its southern end. The other runs from the Kaidan-in past the Great Buddha Hall, the bell tower and the Nembutsu-dō as far as the foot of the Hokke-dō, and stops there. The temple states plainly that some parts of the grounds cannot be used by wheelchair, that the open space below the Nigatsu-dō is reachable but sits on a slope with a real change in height, and that the stairs up to the Nigatsu-dō itself cannot be avoided on wheels. There is no stroller park and no stroller-minding service mentioned anywhere official, so plan to keep it with you or carry the child up | Web-checked | checked Aug ’26 | todaiji.or.jptodaiji.or.jptodaiji.or.jptodaiji.or.jp |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Diaper changing table | Yes | Inside Tōdai-ji itself there is exactly one: the accessible toilet in the basement of the Tōdai-ji Museum, which is by the Nandai-mon gate and a walk away from the Great Buddha Hall. An elevator connects that basement to the first floor, so a stroller can get down to it. Nara Prefecture, which looks after the park toilets, lists two more within easy reach — the toilet at the Daibutsuden-mae parking lot and the one at the foot of the west steps to the Sangatsu-dō — both with a changing bed, and the Sangatsu-dō one also has a child seat. If you are asked and cannot find any of them, the temple tells you to go to the security post in front of the Chūmon gate | Web-checked | checked Aug ’26 | todaiji.or.jppref.nara.lg.jptodaiji.or.jptodaiji.or.jp |
| Nursing space | No | There is no nursing room. The temple's own answer is: there is no nursing room, but if you need one, come to the security post and they will lend you a room if one is free. The security post is in front of the Chūmon gate, just past the Great Buddha Hall entrance, and the grounds map repeats that anyone stuck for a feed or a diaper change should go there. Because it depends on a room being free, treat it as a favor rather than a facility. For a proper nursing room, the one to aim for is on the first floor of the Nara Park Bus Terminal, which stands on Noborioji — the road you walk in along from Kintetsu Nara station — and its floor plan marks a nursing room, a multipurpose toilet and an elevator on that floor | Web-checked | checked Aug ’26 | todaiji.or.jptodaiji.or.jpnpbt.jp |
| Indoor / outdoor | Indoor & outdoor | Mixed, and mostly outdoors. Everything between the gates — the approach through the Nandai-mon, the walk to the Chūmon, the path up towards the Nigatsu-dō — is open air, and only the halls you buy a ticket for are inside. The Great Buddha Hall is a roof over your head; so is the Tōdai-ji Cultural Center by the Nandai-mon, and that is the building to head for indoors, because the temple's own list of what it holds includes a cafe, a museum shop and a rest space. For rain, Nara Prefecture's answer for the park is that the shelters and open pavilions have roofs and are free to use, and that the Nara Park Bus Terminal and the prefectural office arcade take larger groups | Web-checked | checked Aug ’26 | pref.nara.lg.jptodaiji.or.jptodaiji.or.jp |
| Family restroom | Yes | The temple states there are four wheelchair-accessible toilets on the grounds and marks them on the official map. The two you pass on the usual walk are the one by the Great Buddha Hall entrance on the west side and the one in the basement of the Tōdai-ji Museum, which is also where the changing table is; the other two are further up, near the Nembutsu-dō and the Shigatsu-dō, and by the Hokke-dō. Read the symbols rather than the count, because the map uses two different ones: the toilet by the Great Buddha Hall entrance carries the multipurpose symbol, which includes ostomy fittings, while the other three carry the wheelchair-accessible symbol, which the map's own key says is not fitted for ostomy users. The museum basement one is the exception to watch: the map gives it the wheelchair-accessible symbol, but the FAQ and the building's own floor plan both call it a multipurpose toilet, so check on the spot if the fitting matters to you. Nara Prefecture separately lists the park toilets: the one at the foot of the west steps to the Sangatsu-dō has an accessible cubicle, a multipurpose cubicle, a child seat and a changing bed, and the one at the Daibutsuden-mae parking lot has an accessible cubicle, a multipurpose cubicle and a changing bed | Web-checked | checked Aug ’26 | todaiji.or.jptodaiji.or.jppref.nara.lg.jp |
| Diaper disposal bin | Not checked yet | Not stated. Neither the temple nor the prefecture mentions a diaper bin, and the prefecture says there are no trash cans in Nara Park at all because deer eat what is dropped, so assume you carry it out | |||
| English support | English menu & signs | What is documented is English in print and in your ear, not English at a counter. The official website runs in eight languages, English among them, with its own pages for opening hours, fees, the map and each hall. On the grounds you can rent an audio guide for ¥500 a person — a touch pen, earphones and a map — in English, Japanese, Chinese, Korean, French, German, Spanish, Italian and Vietnamese, thirty minutes of recording covering the temple's history, its buildings and its statues. You pick it up 15 meters past the Great Buddha Hall ticket gate, just before the Chūmon; no reservation unless you are a group of ten or more; the desk runs 10:00-17:00 from April to October and 10:00-16:30 from November to March and may close in bad weather. Two things to know before you count on it: the free pamphlet the temple hands out is in Japanese only, and the children's version of the audio guide exists in Japanese only. Whether the signs on the grounds carry English is not stated anywhere official | Web-checked | checked Aug ’26 | todaiji.or.jptodaiji.or.jptodaiji.or.jptodaiji.or.jp |
| Outside food allowed | Not checked yet | Not stated. The temple publishes rules for the halls — no sketching, no flashlights, no tripods — but says nothing either way about eating or drinking on the grounds. What is stated: the whole precinct is no-smoking, there are no trash cans in Nara Park and you must carry your trash out, and you must not give the deer anything except the deer crackers sold in the park | |||
| Kids' toilet seat & step stool | Not checked yet | Not stated. Neither the temple nor the prefecture mentions a child-size seat or a step stool. The prefecture does list a child seat in some park toilets, including the one at the foot of the west steps to the Sangatsu-dō, but that is a chair to strap a baby into while the adult uses the toilet, which is a different thing | |||
| Elevator | Yes | One elevator, and it is in the Tōdai-ji Cultural Center — the building that holds the Tōdai-ji Museum, by the Nandai-mon gate. The official floor plan marks an elevator on both the first floor and the basement, which is what lets a stroller reach the accessible toilet and the changing table down there. No elevator is shown or mentioned anywhere else on the grounds, and the temple says the climb to the Nigatsu-dō is stairs that cannot be avoided on wheels | Web-checked | checked Aug ’26 | todaiji.or.jptodaiji.or.jptodaiji.or.jp |
| Stroller rental | Not checked yet | Not stated. The official FAQ answers the wheelchair question but never mentions strollers, so this is unknown rather than a no. Wheelchairs are lent: not by reservation, just ask on the day at the Great Buddha Hall ticket office or the security post in front of the hall entrance; numbers are limited so they may not have one free, the loan covers the stretch between the hall and the prefectural parking lot, and the chair goes back to the security post | |||
| Child switch (rider swap) | Not checked yet | Not applicable here. There are no rides or height-limited attractions at a temple, and nothing of this kind appears on the official site | |||
| Steps & slope caution | Many steps | The good part first: the whole main approach and the Great Buddha Hall are reachable and enterable on wheels — a made-up route runs from the prefectural parking lot by the Great South Gate, past the Cultural Center and through the Chūmon, and the taxi drop-off on the west side joins it, then a ramp on the front left side takes you into the cloister and the hall. Past that it gets hard. The temple says outright that some parts of the grounds cannot be used by wheelchair. The open space below the Nigatsu-dō is reachable but runs along the hillside with a real change in height — the English page calls that stretch quite uneven and uphill — and the climb to the Nigatsu-dō itself is stairs that cannot be avoided on wheels. On the official map the passable route is a purple line whose eastern arm ends at the foot of the Hokke-dō, so read the line rather than assuming | Web-checked | checked Aug ’26 | todaiji.or.jptodaiji.or.jptodaiji.or.jp |
| Nursing rooms | No | None. The temple's FAQ says so in as many words; the security post in front of the Chūmon will lend a room if one is free | Web-checked | checked Aug ’26 | todaiji.or.jp |
| Diaper changing tables | Yes | One inside Tōdai-ji, in the accessible toilet in the Tōdai-ji Museum basement. Nara Prefecture lists changing beds in two nearby park toilets as well: the Daibutsuden-mae parking lot and the foot of the west steps to the Sangatsu-dō | Web-checked | checked Aug ’26 | todaiji.or.jppref.nara.lg.jp |
| Hot water for formula | Not checked yet | Not stated. No mention of hot water for formula anywhere official — expected, since there is no nursing room to put it in | |||
| Fathers welcome | Not checked yet | Not stated. There is no nursing room, so the question of who may use it does not arise on the official site | |||
| Microwave | Not checked yet | Not stated on the official site (as of 11 August 2026) | |||
| Room privacy | Not checked yet | Not applicable as a fixed facility. There is no nursing room to describe; what exists is a room the security post may lend if one happens to be free | |||
| Official family-friendly certificationExtra info — guide only | Not checked yet | Not stated. No family-friendly certification mark from a local authority or third party appears on the official site | |||
| Crowding (guide)Extra info — guide only | Yes | The temple publishes nothing about crowding — there is no timed entry and no reservation, so nothing meters the flow. Nara Prefecture does publish it, and its message is that what gets crowded is the roads and the parking lots: it says congestion and full parking lots happen around Nara Park on holidays through the spring and autumn seasons and that coming by public transport is the recommendation, it says the park gets very crowded in the holiday season and suggests parking further out near the station and using the Gurutto bus to get around, and it announces that it publishes an AI forecast of road congestion around Nara Park. Inside the grounds, the queue to expect is at the ticket window, which takes cash only | Web-checked | checked Aug ’26 | pref.nara.lg.jppref.nara.lg.jppref.nara.lg.jptodaiji.or.jp |
| Quietness (guide)Extra info — guide only | Not checked yet | Not stated. The official site sets out manners — no sketching or flashlights inside the halls, no tripods around the Nigatsu-dō, no noise near it at night, and do not point a camera at pilgrims walking their rounds — but nothing that rates how quiet the place is | |||
| Stroller access notesExtra info — guide only | Yes | Three things to settle before you set off. Parking: the temple has none of its own and asks you to use nearby parking lots; on spring and autumn weekends the prefecture opens free park-and-ride parking lots. Wheels: the made-up route for a wheelchair or a stroller starts at the Daibutsuden-mae prefectural parking lot and at the taxi drop-off in front of the Sashizu-dō on the west side of the hall, and runs to the hall entrance — arriving anywhere else means finding your own way. Bikes: park at the rack southwest of the Nandai-mon, and note that you may not ride on the approach between the Nandai-mon and the Great Buddha Hall or in front of the hall entrance, because of people and deer; if you cross it, get off and push. One correction worth knowing: the temple's access page still gives the Gurutto Bus fare as ¥100, but the prefecture that runs it changed the routes and fares in April 2025 and now charges ¥250 for age 13 and over and ¥130 for an elementary-school child. Under-6s travel free at one child per fare-paying passenger of elementary-school age or older, and a second under-6 costs ¥130; under-1s are free whatever the number. It runs 10:00-17:00 at 20-minute intervals, three an hour, on weekends and public holidays plus weekdays in season. Coin lockers are behind the ticket office of the Tōdai-ji Museum | Web-checked | checked Aug ’26 | todaiji.or.jptodaiji.or.jptodaiji.or.jppref.nara.lg.jppref.nara.lg.jppref.nara.lg.jp |