‹ Tokyo

Zojoji Temple
Photo: Syced · CC0

See · TokyoWeb-checked · Oct ’26

Zojoji Temple

Save

Contains ads | Our order isn't influenced by ads ▶ How we make money ▶ How we choose places

Zojoji is a Buddhist temple founded in 1393, with one of the Tokyo area's largest halls.

Six Tokugawa shoguns (Japan's former military rulers) are buried here, and Tokyo Tower is about 290 m, a 4-minute walk, away.

MoreWhat kind of place

Zojoji was founded in 1393 and is one of the seven head temples of the Jodo sect, a school of Buddhism.

Today its grounds are 16,000 tsubo (a Japanese area unit) and still hold the graves of six Tokugawa shoguns, though in the Edo period its land, including outlying plots, was 250,000 tsubo.

Its main gate is also the one building that keeps the look of the large-scale early Edo-period construction, and it is a nationally designated Important Cultural Property whose upper floor is closed to visitors.

With kidsThe part that matters

Tokyo Tower comes into view behind the main hall, the Daiden, together with cherry blossoms in spring. The view from the Daiden's terrace is what two visiting boys remembered best.

Small jizo statues (Buddhist figures) in tiny hats and pinwheels are a hit with kids. Chairs inside the Daiden and a café in the grounds give small legs somewhere to rest.

It is an unhurried stop, but the path to the Daiden climbs 43 steps, so plan your stroller route.

By age0-1 / 2-3 / 4-6
  • Ages 0-1At a first-visit blessing ceremony in 2025, a baby about one month old slept through the whole 15 to 20 minutes while her mother held her throughout. Children aged 0 to 1 make up 19% of the children in review data from Jalan, a Japanese travel site.
  • Ages 2-3Ages 2 to 3 are the most common among children in Jalan review data, at 31%. Next door, Shiba Park has play equipment where one family let their child play after Tokyo Tower.
  • Ages 4-6On a quiet November weekday in 2022, a five-year-old walked freely around the wide grounds, then fidgeted but stayed seated through a Shichi-go-san blessing ceremony of about 20 minutes. At a 2024 ceremony, a priest spoke gently to twins aged five by the traditional Japanese count (three or four by Western count), who also liked the jizo pinwheels enough that the family bought some.
By weatherRain, heat, cold
  • Rainy dayThe Daiden, where you can sit on chairs, is indoors, and so is the treasure hall in the basement, free for elementary students and younger, with a one-tenth-scale model of a shogun's mausoleum shown with its roof removed. The walk of about 300 to 400 m from the subway stations has no roof.
  • Hot dayIn August 2025, one family found the visit hot in the blazing sun and wanted a cooler season next time. In early October 2024 the Ankokuden hall, where blessings are held, was air-conditioned, and the café opens 10:00 to 17:00.
  • Cold dayNot checked yet
Family checks
Tap a mark for details.
Not yet checked: 5

Lost-child support, Kids' toilet seat & step stool, Official family-friendly certification, High chair, Kids' menu

* Not at this spot — nearest options (1)
  • Stroller friendly: not at the spot itself. We read 107 pages and found 1 nearby instead.

Green = we confirmed it. Gray = not checked yet. Gray with a line through = the place does not have it.

Save

Where to go next

Where it is

The address is 4-7-35 Shibakoen, Minato-ku, Tokyo.source

Before you go

Sources and evidence (58)
  • There is no nursing space; one 2020 reviewer nursed with a nursing cover in the lobby, a dimly lit, waiting-room-like area, and nobody objected.source2020-02-18
  • Reviews from 2018 and 2020 say the first-floor restrooms have changing tables in both the men's and women's rooms (one table per the site).source2018-03-25
  • Wheelchair-accessible restrooms are in the Zojoji Kaikan building on the first and third floors and beside the building.source2026-10-22
  • The treasure hall is indoors, on the first basement floor of the main hall (Daiden), and only that hall is covered here.source2026-10-22
  • A 2018 and 2020 review says the women's side has a diaper bin, though the same page's facility list says there is none.source2018-03-25
  • The temple's FAQ says there is an elevator inside the main hall, meant for wheelchair visitors.source2026-10-22
  • Tokyo's universal design guide lists an elevator and wheelchair loan among the temple's facilities.source2026-10-22
  • One guide says the 25 front steps can be avoided by taking an elevator in the Zojoji Kaikan building or in the main hall (two places) up to the second floor.source2026-10-22
  • Onarimon Station's elevator exits are A6 (street-level exit on the Shiba Park side) and A3b (directly connected to the Sumitomo Fudosan Onarimon Tower).source2025-11-25
  • The pamphlets are available in English, Chinese and Korean; whether staff speak English is not stated.source2026-07-04
  • In review data from Jalan, children aged 2 to 3 are the most common visitors (31%), then 7 to 12 (24%), then 0 to 1 and 4 to 6 (19% each).source2026-10-22
  • The Tokugawa shoguns' mausoleum costs 500 yen on the temple's 2025 exhibition page, or 1,000 yen as a combined ticket with the treasure hall.source2026-10-22
  • The treasure hall costs 700 yen for adults, 300 yen for junior and senior high students, and is free for elementary students and younger (grounds are separate and free).source2026-10-22
  • Entering the grounds is free; the treasure hall and the mausoleum are paid.source2026-10-22
  • Going into the main hall (Daiden) is free, and there are chairs inside.source2025-10-25
  • One 2025 visitor wrote that entering the Tokugawa shoguns' mausoleum cost a separate 1,000 yen (the grounds themselves are free).source2025-04-03
  • The main hall is open 6:00 to 17:30.source2026-10-22
  • On weekdays the treasure hall is open 11:00 to 15:00, with last entry at 14:45.source2026-10-01
  • On weekends and holidays the treasure hall is open 10:00 to 16:00, with last entry at 15:45.source2026-10-01
  • The treasure hall is open 11:00 to 15:00 on weekdays (last entry 14:45) and 10:00 to 16:00 on weekends and holidays (last entry 15:45).source2026-10-22
  • The main hall is open 6:00 to 17:30, and the Ankokuden hall is open 9:00 to 17:00.source2026-10-22
  • The treasure hall is closed on Tuesdays, but open when a Tuesday is a holiday, according to the temple's page.source2026-10-22
  • The temple's access page also says the treasure hall closes Tuesdays and opens if the Tuesday is a holiday.source2026-10-22
  • For a first-visit blessing ceremony for a baby, book on the temple's website; confirmation comes by email.source2026-01-20
  • There is no parking for general visitors, and the temple asks you to come by public transport.source2026-10-22
  • JR and Tokyo Monorail Hamamatsucho Station is a 10-minute walk away.source2026-10-22
  • Onarimon and Shibakoen stations on the Toei Mita Line are each a 3-minute walk away.source2026-10-22
  • Daimon Station on the Toei Asakusa and Oedo lines is a 5-minute walk away.source2026-10-22
  • The address is 4-7-35 Shibakoen, Minato-ku, Tokyo.source2026-10-22
  • The Ankokuden hall, for blessings and goshuin stamps, is open 9:00 to 17:00.source2026-10-22
  • The stairs from the main gate to the main hall total 43 steps, split into 18 and 25.source2026-10-22
  • The main gate (Sangedatsumon, or Sanmon) is under conservation repair from January 2025 until June 2032 (planned), according to the temple's own site.source2026-10-22
  • The mausoleum plans to pause general visits for about two weeks sometime in 2026, with dates to be announced once decided.source2026-09-01
  • The treasure hall is closed December 22 to 31, 2026 for a display change, and the next permanent exhibition starts January 1, 2027.source2026-10-01
  • The treasure hall charges 300 yen for junior and senior high students, and elementary students and younger enter free.source2026-10-22
  • The grounds hold the Senzo Kosodate Jizoson, enshrined to wish for children's safe growth and health.source2026-10-22
  • Shichi-go-san blessings are held at the Ankokuden (October and November sessions at 10:00, 12:00 and 15:00; reservation required).source2026-10-22
  • The Shichi-go-san blessing fee is 10,000 yen, and the family receives a talisman, prayer beads, a charm and chitose-ame candy.source2026-10-22
  • From January 17 to September 30, Shichi-go-san blessings are accepted only at the 12:00 session.source2026-10-22
  • The front main gate is under repair from January 2025 to June 2032 (planned), according to the temple's site.source2026-10-22
  • The stairs from the approach to the front of the main hall number 18.source2026-10-22
  • The wide stone stairs up to the main hall have 25 steps.source2026-10-22
  • Tokyo's tourism site says a garden of small jizo statues represents unborn children, and parents decorate them with clothes and small toys.source2026-03-26
  • Onarimon and Shibakoen stations are about 300 m from the grounds, and the road has no roof.source2026-10-22
  • Daimon Station is about 400 m from the grounds, and the road has no roof.source2026-10-22
  • The walk from the station to the temple front is almost flat, but the grounds slope up to the east and steps increase toward the main hall.source2026-10-22
  • While the work continues, there is no step-free way in through the main gate, so use the side entrance along the road.source2026-10-22
  • A narrow walkway runs under the main gate while it is under repair (open since September 2025).source2026-10-22
  • The walkway under the main gate has worn, uneven old paving, and there are two stone steps before the steel ramp plate.source2026-10-22
  • With wheels, enter by the small street to the right of the main gate, which leads to a flat entrance.source2026-10-22
  • The wide stone stairs in front of the main hall have a handrail.source2026-10-22
  • Another guide says the main-hall elevator also stops at a floor that is off limits to tourists, so the two guides differ on where the elevators let you off.source2026-10-22
  • The mausoleum itself is not wheelchair accessible, because stone steps lead up to its gate.source2026-10-22
  • The mausoleum entrance is a gate reached by stone steps up through a hedge.source2026-10-22
  • As of January 2026, the main gate was covered by a construction enclosure.source2026-10-22
  • A 2019 review says the restroom entrance is on the first floor, beside the stairs people climb to pray.source2019-04-28
  • A 2025 parent blog says the A6 exit elevator at Onarimon Station has a ramp at street level, easy for strollers to use.source2025-11-25
  • One mother with two boys said her sons, who had looked forward to going through the main gate, were disappointed that it was closed for repairs.source2025-10-25

Basics

Once you've decided

See places nearby
Nursing spaceNoThere is no nursing space; one 2020 reviewer nursed with a nursing cover in the lobby, a dimly lit, waiting-room-like area, and nobody objected.Web-checkedchecked Feb ’20mamamap.jp
Diaper changing tableYesReviews from 2018 and 2020 say the first-floor restrooms have changing tables in both the men's and women's rooms (one table per the site).Web-checkedchecked Mar ’18mamamap.jp
Family restroomYesWheelchair-accessible restrooms are in the Zojoji Kaikan building on the first and third floors and beside the building.Web-checkedchecked Oct ’26barrier-free-map.com
Stroller friendlyNot checked yet
Lost-child supportExtra info — guide onlyNot checked yet
Indoor / outdoorIndoorThe treasure hall is indoors, on the first basement floor of the main hall (Daiden), and only that hall is covered here.Web-checkedchecked Oct ’26zojoji.or.jp
Diaper disposal binYesA 2018 and 2020 review says the women's side has a diaper bin, though the same page's facility list says there is none.Web-checkedchecked Mar ’18mamamap.jp
Kids' toilet seat & step stoolNot checked yet
ElevatorYesWeb-checkedchecked Oct ’26udnavi.tokyo
English supportEnglish menu & signsThe pamphlets are available in English, Chinese and Korean; whether staff speak English is not stated.Web-checkedchecked Jul ’26gltjp.com
Outside food allowedNot checked yet
Official family-friendly certificationExtra info — guide onlyNot checked yet
High chairNot checked yet
Kids' menuNot checked yet
Best-fit ages (guide)Extra info — guide onlyYesIn review data from Jalan, children aged 2 to 3 are the most common visitors (31%), then 7 to 12 (24%), then 0 to 1 and 4 to 6 (19% each).Web-checkedchecked Oct ’26jalan.net

Information changes — check the dates above.

Reviews

Ask your AI

Tap the AI you use.

Or copy the prompt and paste it yourself: